World Cup 101

Jocelyn Arraya, Layout Artist

With the 2018 FIFA World Cup coming in June, here’s what you need to know. For the 2018 World Cup, out of the thirty two qualifying teams five are from Africa, five are from Asia, thirteen are from Europe, three are from North and Central America along with the Caribbean, and five are from South America. Since Russia will be hosting, they automatically get their spot in the tournament. The 2018 World Cup will be held at Russia in their twelve different venues. The World Cup will officially be under way on June 14th and will finish on July 15th.


Before being able to win or be a part of the World Cup, you first have to qualify for it. There are a total of 52 teams that battle for the honor of being featured in the world cup. These games are known as the group stages. The 52 teams are divided into nine groups of six. Each teams plays their opponents home and away in round-robin matches. A round-robin tournament, also known as an all-play-all tournament, is when each team meets all other teams in turn. These matches are then follow up with elimination matches.


A total of 32 teams will be featured in the world cup. 31 of those teams have just completed the qualifying stages and 1 (Russia) making it as the host team. All 32 teams will be split into four different groups. Which group the nation was put it depended on their current FIFA world rankings. Group A contain the current top eight teams in the FIFA world rankings. Group B with the next eight teams and so on with the remainder of groups.